One Thing I Know…

20130616-234045.jpg

I do not understand God’s ways.

Isaiah 55:8-11
The Message (MSG)
8-11 “I don’t think the way you think.
The way you work isn’t the way I work.”
God’s Decree.
“For as the sky soars high above earth,
so the way I work surpasses the way you work,
and the way I think is beyond the way you think.
Just as rain and snow descend from the skies
and don’t go back until they’ve watered the earth,
Doing their work of making things grow and blossom,
producing seed for farmers and food for the hungry,
So will the words that come out of my mouth
not come back empty-handed.
They’ll do the work I sent them to do,
they’ll complete the assignment I gave them.

Have you ever heard God tell you something? I mean really heard it, and your confidence in what he was saying was utterly unmistakable? It’s not often, is it? If you’re like me, most often you hear something, consider it might be God and then spend the next hours either convincing yourself it was just all in your crazy mind or how God would never tell you to do “that” because it simply doesn’t make sense. But then you think about it some more. Most often the opportunity has far since passed to obey. And you think “dang it, I should have done that!” Anybody, anybody? Surely I’m not the only one.

Here’s something I’ve been reinvestigating lately.

Remember back in the day when accepting Jesus, following Jesus, “asking him into your heart” was so new? “They” told us that when we decide to follow Jesus he comes into our heart…which is so NOT Biblical. It’s much more accurate to believe that he literally indwells us, from that day to forever. Infinity, as my kids say. He literally moves in, takes up residence and never leaves. You know, that Holy Spirit guy so many Christians are afraid to talk about too much because he might make us all Pentacostal and cause us to dance or yell or something? That’s actually who moves in. We signed on the dotted line saying we wanted that miracle to overtake us. And then 2.7 seconds later, we forgot. Or maybe we never really understood in the first place.

I’m thinking I never REALLY understood.

Because if I did understand, I would have somehow set out to comprehend the fact that the Amy who once was, was no more. The eyes she saw with, the ears she listened with, the mouth she spoke with, the brain she thought with, we’re no longer alive. All of a sudden, it was no longer Amy, but God. God seeing, God hearing and responding, God speaking and God inside my brain. But somehow I missed it and I somehow thought I had some amount of Amy power to move through life with and that the Spirit was just a perk for when I got stumped and couldn’t figure things out on my own.

Are you freaking out? Just stick with me.

Yes, yes, free will still stands. My sin nature can kick God to the curb practically at any moment. That’s the weirdness of it to me and always will be. But as a Christ follower who has freely invited the Holy Spirit to the party and asked him to stay, let me address the earlier question. Have you ever thought your heard God tell you something and then second and two-hundred thirty- two times guess it, only out of fear of being wrong, ultimately say “no?”

After almost 30 years of being a Christian, here’s something I’m really just learning for the first time. . .

The Holy Spirit lives inside me. . .all of me. And if he does then it’s not my brain, it’s his. And if I am genuinely acknowledging his presence and seeking to follow, and then think God is possibly telling me something to do or say or act upon. . .it’s God. Thats it. It’s gotta be God. He’s not out to screw me over or make me look like an idiot. That’s not in his character at all. Stop questioning it!!!!! Do it!

I do not understand God’s ways. He does not work the way I work or the way I think he should work. But he has his reasons, and they are higher than mine. Isaiah 55:8-11

3 Responses to One Thing I Know…

  1. Kelly Byrd says:

    Totally needed this today! Thanks for being so transparent!

  2. Lynn says:

    Has God ever called you and your family to take a look at Montrose and the surrounding area? Or is that my voice putting the thought into your head?

Leave a Reply

